Venue: National Cycling Velodrome, Couva, Trinidad 
Ages: Men and Women: 17 and 18 years of age (athletes born in 2005 and 2006)
Men and Women: 17 and 18 years of age (athletes born in 2005 and 2006)
Entries: Maximum entry of two athletes per nation per event
Medals: 12 medal events

About Track Cycling

Following a 200m qualifier, riders are seeded into heats of two riders, with the winners going through to the next round of the competition. Each sprint race takes place over three laps of the track. From the quarter-finals onwards the winner is determined from the best of three heats. After lots are drawn to determine riders’ starting positions, the rider who draws the inside starting position must lead the first half lap of the race. At this stage, riders assume the optimum position on the track, before a dramatic sprint to the finish line.  

Time Trial 
In this event, cyclists ride alone in a race against the clock. With a distance of 1,000 metres for men and 500 metres for women, the fastest finish time wins. 

Individual Pursuit
Starting on opposite sides of the track, cyclists race not only against each other, but against the clock. The two fastest riders will go through to the Gold medal event, with the third and fourth fastest competing for Bronze. The men’s race is 3,000 metres (3km), while women will compete over a distance of 2,000 metres (2km). 

Scratch Race
Cyclists compete over a distance of 10km for men, and 7.5km for women. The first across the line wins. Riders ‘lapped’ by other competitors must leave the race. 

Taken from the Japanese word for ‘fight’ this race sees riders initially line up in a pre-drawn order behind a pacesetter on a motorcycle, known as a ‘derny’. Riders are not allowed to pass the derny until it leaves the track with three laps to go. At this point, riders will sprint, with the first one across the line sealing the win. 

Trinbago 2023 Track Cycle Events

The National Cycling Velodrome is a state-of-the-art facility in Couva boasting a 250m wooden track. In 2022, it became the first UCI Satellite Center in the western hemisphere and in 2023 will host the following events as part of the Trinbago Commonwealth Youth Games:

Women’s Events

  • Individual Pursuit 2km
  • 500m Time Trial
  • Scratch 7.5 km
  • Points Race
  • Sprint
  • Keirin 

Men’s Events

  • Individual Pursuit 3km
  • 1km Time Trial
  • Scratch 10 km
  • Points Race
  • Sprint
  • Keirin